“The Push” pt. 1

So Since this is the first installment of my “Hot 16…or more…” Segment where I post a written version of my verses for those of you who just Looovvve lyrics, or those of you who just didn’t catch half of the Flyness compacted and compounded in each sentence, I figured it’s only right that I start off with the Very FIRST song I ever put out as a debut solo artist.

I present, “The Push”

This is the first and ONLY song that I had in my possession when I first entered the game and the web world. This premiere coincided with My putting up my website, My myspace page and Appearing on Rap City in the Booth.

In fact, they all premiered on the same exact day; September 25th, 2006.

I recorded this with the intent to ‘Change The Game’ and definitely make an impression, so I had limited time because my resources and studio access was limited. I went to D.C. because My girlfriend at the time lived there, and that city was the only place where I knew someone with a studio setup.

So I asked my boy Shak If I could record something one day while I was there. On the night before I came back to New York, I recorded this – a 100 bar mixtape style track where 5 beats that all are known for incorporating the word “Push” blend into each other and force me to rap in a different style with each change.  I picked beats with the word “Push” because I thought it was fitting – I’m pushing myself and my name out. I also knew I could flip different styles because the beats were so different, and I always wanted to rhyme over some of them…like the Salt N’ Pepa joint especially. I thought it was Pretty Genius.

I still do actually.

This was my one chance to make a first impression on all of the thousands of people who would see me grace the booth on BET and look me up to see what I had to offer. I had to do something special.

So here’s Part 1 of that;

Hope you learn something…

“Wait a second, ain’t no Second Best – I bet I set it for the records-For the books,

Tell your man move like the vocals on the sample, unless he want The Push..

To come to shovin’ cousin – trust that he don’t want it cause I never let him off the Hook,

-Got,

Cheddar in the oven like I’m baking Zitti – Liky got some Bread he gotta cook!

But I’m never full enough to pull an upchuck on the game,

so I’m pulling stunts – jumping from another Buckle up to bump in your frame.

From the same fist that knuckle up to sucker punch – better Buckle Up ‘fore I bump-in your frame,

Get the picture now? I ain’t finished ’til I get some bullets up on my name

(Blowe!)

Number 1 by me, on the Charts – I had a little Vison,

Let ’em know the campaign’s “Sign Me!”…

A&R’s go and get a pen quick!

Critics say my generation’s gone and it lack ambition,

That’s when I get in Carlton Banks mode…

Haters Try to Aunt Viv him.

I’m just tryin’a get up on my rich kid, on my business – yeah The Prince is…

Fresh!

As Will Smith is in Hitch, but this Wild Wild West

Harlem! that’s the Hundreds,

Brawls and scraps at Ruckers,

Cars and cats that’s hustlin’,

Alright,

Back to the fun it’s…

Phillip Banks – tryin’a Fill up banks – ain’t no Hilary, but still a little Swank

I’m the Million Dollar Baby, you can hate me – tell ’em Break a leg!

When I throw ’em out the back – throw ’em out like Jazz

Ain’t no way that Rap’s goin’ out like Jazz – I’m Count Basie – He came from the very same place that…

Got them boys that count Base, E, D, Marijuana, Crack,

In the form of weight and ki’s – ‘specially in The heights where Dominicanas’ at.

Ain’t no way they runnin’ out of that -ya’ll just keep on lookin,

While they bring more crooks in,

Powder keep on pushin…

The,

Path that he’s on is defying Gravity Pa,

Cause I’m Fly,

– I’m Tallying off,

-all these guys – I bury your Bars!”

Hope you learned something…

http://www.zshare.net/audio/6906807187f19c4c/

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

