Back Like I Never Left! Kwanzaa Edition

Ok,

you’ve probably been wondering where I’ve been since December 31st and where the Hell the posts have been (or…you just stopped coming to the site).

Well my friends,

I put your regularly scheduled program on hold for the sake of enlightening you on some Kwanzaa stuff that you might not have known about. True indeed, it wasn’t the most extensive Kwanzaa blogging out there, but it got the job done. I also admit that I was being kinda lazy because I’ve been diligently NOT being lazy, working on my First ever original music project, coming this year at the end of Spring.

But just so you have an idea of what my experience was like, here’s some footage of the most pivotal day of the Kwanzaa celebration and how I brought it in.

I took the oppurtunity to introduce my Nephew Ramale (a.k.a. Winnie) to this Holiday by way of his Auntie and the homegirl of all homegirl’s: Indigo.

I didn’t celebrate Kwanzaa the way I wanted to, so this was the only day that there was really a concerted effort to observe and carry things out. I wound up living the principles and days vicariously through the blog, and through you in the process (yeah, probably a bit more laziness on my part).

This all went down at the dope Duplex apartment that she inhabits with our Resident renaissance chic, the Notorious TDJ and the unofficial 16’s Candles PR person Ms. Daryl (yeah, that’s a woman – I call her Penny cause she looks like Young Janet Jackson), in the magical Planet of Brooklyn. We affectionately refer to this crib as The Living Single pad, because of the Dynamic of the uhmm…single ladies and their differing personalities all co-existing in Brooklyn. Make sense now? Yeah, yeah, I know they’re missing a 4th – sue us! Geez!! But I guess this make me Kyle in this equation??

Ironically enough, I’m more like the male version of Maxine (Pause), the damn near 4th roomate who’s place you never see, but is frequently involved in the goings-on to provide sarcastic and colorful commentary. Not to mention, I’m always down to leave their place with something I didn’t come in with – ya dig?

Who am I to ruin tradition??!

So yes, I took my 5 Year old nephew all the way to another Borough after 8:30 P.M. on a cold December 26th night in 2009, only to return him home to his mother at 3:30 A.M. in the morning. Why?? because that’s how bad I wanted to put the boy on to some sense of culture DAMMIT!! And he wasn’t going to sleep anyway.

Ask Indigo who still had energy to ask about playing video games that night and you’ll see I lost 8 times over in that battle. But ask who enjoyed an hour long nap on the couch before hitting the road and I win!!

So here goes;

With TDJ being MIA on said Night, Indigo played Den Mother, Hostess, and Leader to our makeshift family to make this Umoja special for my nephew. He helped her clean greens (not Collards) as she cooked and prepared our food. I was put on dish duty – which I HATE,  and we all shared reading duties as we ran through definitions, origins and motivations behind our items and principles for the night.

Indigo’s little Sister, The gangster, Megan (a.k.a. Sis) was also in the building (literally).

You really don’t have to watch this whole video, because it’s long and I couldn’t edit it and after a while it just drags on and seems like something that you feel like you weren’t supposed to be watching from a blog.

But pay attention to the funny parts like Winnie counting everyone as Brown except for Daryl. And how the Hell did Daryl get Auntie Status on her first night of meeting him??

(“Auntie Daryl”?? – not quite)

or the never-ending one-liners from Winnie like, “I give up”, Or my favorite, compliment-fishing- pat-on-the-back “I’m Smart!”.

And nevermind my scraggly appearance, It’s not about me..we did this for Kwanzaa.

Besides, it was a work Day!

Enjoy, and then we’re back to business. We’ll do it better next year.

http://www.vimeo.com/8585391

1 Comment

  1. This was beautiful. Continue to teach our children the truth!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

