Hot 16…Or More… EYES CLOSED Pt. 2

Picking up from where we left off last week for MLK day,

I introduced you all to a song that holds lots of significance for me. It’s also one of the very First original songs that I launched my career with and the song I’m performing in the EPK on my site(www.malik-16.com by the way).

What you didn’t really get to see is that I actually performed the first 2 verses of that song blindfolded, literally playing up on the song lyrics and the underlying theme.

It stands as one of my favorite performances ever.

The track is produced by my once creative partner in crime and business Terence “The Politician” Anderson and is just a great serving of real talk and motivational speaking in one dose.

You can check the link at the very bottom to download it for as long as it lasts.

And With no further adue, I give you Part 2 of that;

“My hood niggas only wanna hear that gangsta shit,

my good niggas on the horn like ‘Liky, save the kids!!’.

And my women-friends only listening to their favorite shit,

keep it simple then they might put it on their playlist…

(shiiitttt).

You listen to thangs that’s on CD,

from niggas that ain’t ruff – they ain’t breathe,

anything Gangsta – they just read,

-off that paper and ya’ll believe what they sayin’ – cause ya’ll perceive,

livin’ this way of life to be,

one of the greatest – I don’t see,

they’re entertainers, not OG’s.

They speak your language, I agree,

but they ain’t gon’ bang, now patna’ Please,

they won’t endanger their safety with that shit they say on their songs – cause they gotta eat!

And they all got seeds,

that they gotta feed,

so they gotta be,

Good,

to make you go buy their LP.

They on them beats,

and you on the corner with quarter Lb’s.

Or that brick that they rappin’ bout,

shit that they flappin’ bout,

you cold – movin’ snow in the snow…

bet they ain’t trappin’ now.

There’s more roads to go than you know,

you just like faster now,

and you see what that has to offer you,

-you finna’ back it down…

And these conscious rappers is self-indulgent,

-they make the kind of music only a couple of folks dig.

They preachin’ to the Choir,

I don’t think that they know this…

when the mass of music buyers’ walkin’ round Blindfolded…

-on that…

Highway to pay the toll,

sucka niggas hatin’, tell ’em Blind Faith is all I know

– Jumpin’ with my eyes closed

They don’t know,

I’m ridin’ with my eyes closed

They don’t know.

See ain’t none of this positive,

gotta go get it how you live – that’s how it is,

cause runnin’ off 24 hours is,

not enough time on the clock to get – it poppin’ – this,

means,

whether you at the job or on the block or strip,

you gotta start from where the bottom is,

and I got a problem with ’em hollerin’

(Keep it Real!!)

Cause it be the main muthafuckas that’s not that be constantly screaming they Trill,

and there’s a whole lot more muthafuckas that dropped ‘fore they topped, without seeing that Mil’.

Ain’t get that gold before crossin‘ that road,

lost their control and ain’t follow their goals,

so far as we know they might have sold their soul

-so it,

goes to show that the show must go on,

-a girl in a wheelchair told me go get your roll on.

(She said)

There’s struggle everyday,

all you got is your hope, so I’m,

back to my leap of Faith,

keeping my blindfold on…

on that…”

Hope you learned something.

Here’s the download for the whole track;

http://www.zshare.net/audio/717440446a03dc95/

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

