Sex & The Chocolate City – Entry #10

A Serendipitous moment on the train.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a blog about this guy I kept seeing on the train playing drums. I hadn’t seen him in the last couple of weeks since I had been out of town for almost a month. Well it just so happened that while I was on my way to Malik-16’s house last night, planning to tell him I really had nothing to write about for today’s blog post, worried about my numbness and lack of love life…guess who walks on the train after me: Drummer Boy. He instantly saw me and mentioned he hadn’t seen me in a while. Of course I was blushing and stuttering like a love stuck fool. The whole train was now staring at us because he decided to position his drum and himself right in front of me, away from the rest of his crew, while he played. Swoooooon

Taking a leap of faith from this serendipitous moment I gave him my number (along with my donation). I just ripped out a sheet a paper and scratched down my digits and he smiled then moved on to the next car. By the time I made it to Malik’s house I was already over thinking the entire moment.

It’s not like he asked me for my number. What if he had a wife or girlfriend? He’s way to good looking not too. And if he’s working on a train, does he even have a cell phone? Should we go out for coffee? How? Who will pay? Where does he live? What if he’s crazy? Good lord what have I done! Now crazy Drummer Boy has my number. Damn, damn, damn!

About an hour later, Drummer Boy texts me, asking permission to call, (answering the question about a cell phone). He was very sweet, polite, and poised. Then, amazingly, he asked me on a date and even offered to pick me up…in his car! To make a long story short, I’m excited and proud of myself for taking a chance with Drummer Boy. I’m probably one of the few women who would have ever taken that type of chance (or so I’ve been told). Even if nothing become of the situation, it’s still nice to know I looked beyond my shallowness and decided not to judge a book by its cover.

TDJ

1 Comment

  1. *does a happy dance to the drumming in my head*

    YASSSSSSSSS!!! I’m so happy you took a chance, and I’m sending good vibes for the first date.

    *sprinkles good vibe glitter over you*


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

