*Zoloft Edition* Hot 16…Or More…ANTI-SOCIAL SOCIALITE

Day 2 kiddies.  The Zoloft Files run-by encounters continue. And the Hot 16’s continue as well.

This installment embodies the …Or More… part of this section because I had no choice but to do  the WHOLE song to get the feel of what I was describing across. In true Malik-16 fashion, I give you another glimpse into my upbringing as a resident of the Hood-Hood, and I lament on not quite fitting in anywhere. A recurring theme.

The title of this song derives from  a phrase that I thought I came up with on my own back in my sophmore year of College when me and my boy Brandon Carter released our very first mixtape together and I did the intro. Alot of my friends around campus teased me for that part of the intro, but years later, just recently, as I was traipsing thru the internets, I stumbled upon a couple uses and misuses of the saying. Some people who I KNOW shouldn’t be using those words in reference to themselves using it.

I felt some kind of way about it at the moment, but now I  say, if you feel as though this term fits your position in life currently, or describes you best, then so be it!

This is dedicated to you who can still feel dolo even while being the life of the party.

I give you the

Anti-Social Socialite


“It’s just a wrinkle in time that gets me thinking on why,

or How I even survived,

these streets’ll eat you alive!

But see these streets don’t apply…

It’s hard believing that I’m,

from the same place – I must be a beacon of light….

In shallow waters – I was born to swim,

Stay away from tides,

– had to pay my Tithes – say I’m born again.

Wasting time’s like they wait to die,

I was brought up where,

chaos thrives on Forsaken lives, on the corner yeah.

So there!

there you have it – it’s the story of a confident kid,

turned shy,

the hood made him frail.

On the same train as all them thugs, but he derailed,

so he never fell a victim to them drugs or them jails.

God knows how to pick ’em but this was a hard sale,

I was goody-2 shoes of the ghetto when crack sales,

was at, all time highs…

Them days of Rich Porter and AZ,

when Pops had like 6 stores – it was crazy!

And this the same vessel – same core that had made me,

except for we was strugglin’ – we was poor in the 80’s.

Now take those elements and then place me,

in a school full of White kids, and you can see how that change me!

It’s sorta like Cinderella ‘cept,

everyday at 3 o’Clock,

you gotta send this fella back! to his block

full of felons, on the steps, where the cops,

probably let ’em sling they rocks,

knowing this was like the start of Armageddon

-And the plot thickens…

I’m the product of two environments;

1 was in that white building,

2 was with them White children.

Now try to balance that! Quite the balance act,

Spiderman couldn’t hang upside down – I was sliding back,

and forth…

Sometimes I leaned more to the White side,

deep inside myself – I never thought it was the right side,

as a consequence – in Harlem, I was never outside,

that’s when I chose to write rhymes,

the T.V. gave me outlines.

So even as a tyke, you see I wasn’t opened quite wide,

but ain’t too many crazy folks who social life, I…

I know everybody but just can’t,

get close to nobody so fuck friends!

I go to the party and just stand,

– everybody else is so Lady GaGa – they Just Dance!

…And you can read my Pokerface,

nevermind the top, the bottom’s the loneliest place.

But ‘lonely‘s,

a word that I just don’t say…

Just not the way that I feel,

not the way I was built!

Ain’t no switching up the mood when I’m the only face,

I’m my most comfortable when I’m alone – it’s safe.

I just don’t want to be forgotten,

so that’s why every now and then I pop into the spots where they say is poppin’ and Poppin’ Champagne – tho I’m not into:

Smoking and Drinking,

Yeah I know what you’re thinking;

I’m inside, but not In!

…Dude at the Industry party posted like,

I’m trying not to Hope I’m right.

– So at the end of the note I sign,

Sincerely Yours – Mr. Anti -Social, Socialite.

I’m Gone!”

Hope you learned something…

Click the image of the mixtape cover below to download it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

