No Further ADU!

The Queen.

I told you I was going to do this post!

Welcome again to my favorite segment of this site.

My Love affair with Helen FolaSade Adu is a bit deeper than a crush admittedly.

She is so unaffected that it’s alluring.

Her detached, otherworldly demeanor is apart of her mystique.

The Original MILF, she made 40, put 20 -somethings to shame when she re-emerged after the first of her 2 Ten year hiatuses. Her model-esque features, golden skintone and the Goddess-like air about her are what makes her something almost dreamy. There may also be alot to be said for the whole Euro thing and the knowledge that she is directly from the continent of Africa. African women have this Beauty that seems to stem from the face more than anywhere else, and European women have this sexual appeal that is hard to define.

Now, I’m in no position to harp on forehead sizes, so I won’t touch on the much mentioned subject that still remains the ONE thing that people come up with when they’re looking for a flaw in Ms. Adu, but I dare you to find another.

I can say that, just like my last Crush Alot entry, Tatyana M. Ali, Sade is severely affected by the Jungle Fever bug to the point that I don’t think there’s ever been a Black man in the public records of her lovelife. But a guy can dream right?

This may be the shortest Crush Alot entry I’ve done because there’s not much more that I can tell you about her that you don’t already know or haven’t already heard.

Like I mentioned before in a previous blog,

Black men seemingly have this Oedipus Complex with Sade.

It’s a tricky web of respect and regale, mixed with the desire to be with, an appreciation for the total package of her beauty and the secret lust to just want to see the freak behind the mysterious glare.

True enough,

Sade is obviously fully aware and in control of her seductiveness. But, perhaps this being a sign of age or class, unlike the Beyonce’s of our time, she puts it in your face, without you even realizing it. It’s in her eyes. Her poses. The profile she strikes or the hypnotism of her graceful movements. Something is to be said about the woman who can make love to the camera. And hers is especially dangerous because it’s far from blatant. In fact, it’s very controlled and understated. It builds the imagination. But yet agin, there’s that web

I’ve never had a straight -up sexual thought about Sade. As a matter of fact, in all my times of barber shop and car wash convo, I don’t ever recall hearing any man speak in reference to her in any inappropriate way. Even though we all know in the back of our minds that we’d love to be the guy she takes to bed with her, there’s just this underlying reminder of her Maternal energy. Even before we knew she was leaving the game to drop babies.

Coupled with this mommy-like energy, she has this super-powerful glow to her. A kind of surreal existential charm.

This is only enhanced when married together with her lyrics and voice. I don’t think I’ve ever even heard Sade speak in an interview (But speaking of which, how crazy and awkward is it that she’s going to be on BET’s 106 & Park tonight as a guest performer???! – talk about generation gaps and courtesy claps – I’ll be cringing in a few hours for sure), but her singing voice, while highly debated upon, is the stuff that haunts.

I,

for one,

Love her voice. the Accent and all…

And as an owner of all of her albums, I understand that her words meet the music in places most artists can’t even imagine. They make the songs in conjunction.

Take one of my favorites,

“Couldn’t Love You More”

Even her humming & adlibing is perfectly placed and moves the songs where they’re supposed to be moved.

Here’s a boatload of my favorite songs and videos of hers. Why not??

(If you recognize the Bassline of this song, then you may be old enough to remember that the Late Teddy Pendergrass made a small Comeback hit in the early 90’s using a sample of this song. You also know that Sade is one of the hardest groups and artists to sample from).

And 2 of my Favorite videos of all time – EVER!!

Her New album, Soldier Of Love is out today.

To keep up with all the newest and latest with her, check out her site.

And if you’re like me, you are FEENIN’ for a chance to see her perform live. So if any of you out there have any leads, hit me  Please!

And then today, my boy Killa texts me to tell me about some song with her, Erykah Badu & Maino!!

What??!!

You know I’ll get to the bottom of this…

In the meantime,

nevermind that you are finally looking your age, or the fact that I dated another chic with your name,

SADE,

You are and always will be,

My Crush!

4 Comments

  1. Her beauty is absolutely timeless and her voice + body of work will forever be on heavy rotation on my iPod. Stronger Than Pride especially. Plus, nobody rocks red matte lipstick like she does…I mean, could her lips be a better shape? Why such physical perfection on one human?

    My one complaint? Her new CD did nothing for me. It made me so sad that the songs were so blah… it was like the Maxwell “comeback” all over again *sad face*

  2. Ahhh SADE!!! If I weren’t $568,790 in student loan debt and her tickets weren’t $1,269 I would definetly be going to see her in June. In the meantime I’ll have Love Is Stronger Than Pride on repeat and reminisce about lost love… AND how broke I am :o)

    • Bianca Ward now huh?

      • Yep, since 01.01.2010… Crazy, I know!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

