Sex & The Chocolate City – Entry #12

The Dreaded Valentine’s Day Post

“So what are your V-Day plans?”

I absolutely cannot stand this question, for the answer is pretty self-evident when you’re single. Nothing. I have no plans. I won’t be so extreme as to say that I hate this holiday but it’s definitely not one of my favorites. Although I’m a huge fan of pink, roses, chocolate hearts and strawberries, there is nothing more depressing than seeing all these happy couples flaunt their relationships in front of you while you speed home to your pint of ice cream to try to avoid the world. Ok, that’s a tad bit extreme, it’s not like girls are purposefully dangling their boyfriends holding flowers in front of me (of course some of them are. Bitches.) But you can get really overwhelmed by the amount of couples you see on V-Day. It’s like a bitch slap reminder that you have no one. It sucks.

I’ve gone through great lengths in the past to avoid this day. So much that I’ve flown out the country just to avoid it but stupidly didn’t factor in that maybe Jamaican’s celebrate the foolish holiday too. It’s not that I’m upset or regret being single, it’s just inconvenient at times like these. Yes I have plenty of guy friends, like Malik-16, that can stand in as dates when I need them. But sometimes, I wouldn’t mind snuggling up with a warm body on what’s claim to be one the most “romantic” nights of the year. A boy, not my homeboy.

Anyhoo, Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! If you have someone, cherish them, adore them, not on this one day, but every day. And if you’re alone, relax, it’s just one day of the year that you have to ease your way through without killing anybody who ask you stupid questions like “So who’s your Valentine?” or “Where’s your boyfriend?”  or “Why are you so cranky?” (I didn’t say you couldn’t slap a couple of folks though).

TDJ

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

