The Damnnnn Lance! And Go HU post!!!

First Monica and Rocko wanna break up, then Fall Out Boy Break up,

and everyday I wake up….

See, a week and a half ago, I went to see the flick Our Family Wedding starring Forest Whitaker, Carlos Mencia, America Ferrara, My New Crush Regina King and my boy Lance Gross.

I went strictly in support of him and also because it doesn’t hurt to have that much star power in a Major film with an all minority cast. Dopeness.

Just when I was about to post up something in Praise of the homey and his starring role, he goes and pulls this shit! What do you mean you and Eva aren’t together anymore?! Public Statement?? Mutual?? A few Months before your wedding??

You and your fiance were suppose to be the bright new burning hope for Young Black love everywhere…a beacon that shone to exemplify that the invisible power struggle doesn’t have to exist, that there could be sex without scandal, that comittment still mattered, that 2 beautiful people (pause) can actually be a dope couple – you were our C-list Brad and Angelina!

Funny right? But this is what people are thinking. That’s waaaaay too much to put on one couple. But they were super symbolic and did inspire lots of Black love. I even felt stronger about my situations after reading articles on them. Anyone can tell you that whatever the circumstances surrounding it, a break-up is the craziest feeling and event that can take place in your emotional life, it’s got to be especially tough in front of the public eye. Iam glad that the general sentiment towards this news is one of sympathy and the media isn’t killing them with snide remarks or backhanded talk. Now I’m sure the parade of Eva hounds and Lance Groupies with googly eyes who have followed him since my school days with him at Howard are sure to resurface. I went to college with the kid when he was doing his track star thing and side modeling. Me and my fellow Bison started dying when we saw him pop-up in random videos like Tony Yayo’s “Curious“, and soon becoming the number one ‘it’ guy for getting dissed in Female R&B singers’ songs like Kelis‘ “Bossy” (where he gets slapped) and Mary J‘s “Take me as Iam” (where he gets wine splashed in his face).

Nevertheless, Gaining a starring role in a widely released Hollywood film is definitely a big deal, and for Lance, this has got to be the official stamp that he has made it. You can thank Tyler Perry for giving him his shot, or just hard work and charm. I guess that’s the balance of life at work huh? You gain something big, you lose something big…I hope this is not a sign that you cannot have both Love and success at the same time and be happy. That would just be the most depressing. As someone who has been dealing with the Break-up word alot recently, this puts things in some other kind of perspective for me, but nevermind all of that…

Since it’s Friday, I’m throwing in my 2 cents and suggesting that you when you go out to a movie this weekend, you consider Our Family Wedding. It’s brought to you by the same guy who did The Best Man and Brown Sugar (and we know how you love those 2!). And while it’s not all deep and thought provoking, it does touch on an interesting subject and is everything fluffy that you’ve come to expect and love from Hollywood.

Plus, support my boy!

I’m still proud of mr. Gross. And Iam SUPER proud of the hundreds of Howard kids I keep running into who I see doing their thing. There’s way too many to name, but I see you!! Good to see people working in their fields…

The first 4 years out, it seemed like everybody was teaching and working in restaurants, but now I see the Takeover. I see ya’ll in my Hood to – Harlem= Howard???

Word?!!

“HU, You Know!!!!!”

I leave you with a song…

1 Comment

  1. Hey nigga! this aint the fucking YBF!!! post some gangsta shit!

    P.S. Ladies, I’m selling Lance’s Phone number for $100 and Email for $75. I accept all major credit cards. get at me


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

