Hot 16…Or More…DRIVE SLOW

If 2006 was my introductory year and the debut of the man you’ve all come to know and love as Malik-16, then 2007 was certainly the year of the pop-up appearances.

In this sense, I mean some of my cohorts from my D.C. days who still considered me cool enough to do a mixtape track with would hit me up periodically throughout said year. This was before everyone started relying on blog attention to define them and letting the hype get to their heads. A time where somebody could hit you up and  just make a collab happen, not a ‘speak to my management’ kind of situation. *Sigh*…

Anyway, one of these cohorts of mine is a young man who thought enough of me to ask me to lend 32 bars to his Let My People Know mixtape series. This young Man is none other than the DMV area’s own, Laelo Hood, and he’s extended fam from my long lost Coalition Crew. Speaking of which, with a rush mix by Coalition leader and founder, Shak-C, this is one of my most unpolished sounding verses, but one of my favorites.  The homie Laelo’s been putting in work for an area that still hasn’t gotten it’s proper kick start yet, but is well on it’s way, and he’s one of the reasons why. Always wanting to bring balance to the game as a reality rapper, Lo asked me to spit a thoughtful verse over the instrumental of Kanye West’s “Drive Slow” that would fit the tone of what he was trying to get across with his rendition. Basically using storytale style verses to take the listeners into our personal experiences growing up in the hood, it was cautionary by being exemplary, not preachy…Similar to 2Pac’s “Shorty Wanna Be A Thug”, which uses the same sample Kanye did for his.

So here in this verse, is the hood experience from my angle, where I touch on the stupidity of it’s glamorization, and take pride in being toughened up by it, but rising above it.

Here goes…

“I got my 7-session driving lesson in the streets of new York,

And my direction was the best one after seeing dudes caught…

Up in the same routine,

Myself said

self!

ain’t no way you careenin’ out your lane – use speed!

So I took them sad songs up off the page you’ve seen,

and now my sad songs pay… I made Blue,

Green…

(And I sing…)

Cause you don’t know the half on a nigga,

you should ask ’bout him, if you live in glass houses – and you throw rocks!

(And where he get his swagger from?)

Straight from Douglass Avenue, where they love they cash, and don’t love no cops!

(On the Road of Life)

I channeled my anger…

with my hand on the grain,

feel like Danity Kane, I ShowStop!

Before my Granny passed,

I remember that she asked me to keep being a good boy – become a good man!

(Now look at where you at!)

Now I’m in an industry that say ‘you gotta keep it hood boy, to make a good grand!

And if not,

you flop!

You ain’t got no street credit; Delete – edit you out the box!

But you know that Malik’s never been orthodox,

he usually think with his head out the box!

-Like it’s…

encrypted in code…

It’s been cold ever since that New York Blood & Crip shit – he drenched in…

That old street sentiment,

so he park the car, and breeze thru the tenements,

if these walls could talk….

They’d speak with their eyes closed…

and it eats at me when,

THESE nerdy niggas who ain’t never drove…

get all geeked tryin’a rep it,

but the piece I don’t get is…

How you gonna speak on some streets you ain”t been in???!

– Drive Slow.”

Hope you learned something.

To hear or download this track, you can click on the link to my newly formed music page courtesy of Bandcamp.com http://malik-16.bandcamp.com/track/drive-slow

It’s all free, and all me! Catch up on all of my mixtapes if you’ve been sleeping all of this time.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

