TDJ’s Dad – the man who discovered Times Square Mystery Car Bomb – Saves The Day!!

Dad meeting with Diane Sawyer #timesquare

Yep Kiddies!

Our own estranged resident renaissance woman, TDJ, has a Bonafied HERO for a dad!

While I was out of the Country, the city I call home was all a frenzy.

I was able to catch a glimpse of CNN coverage in my hotel room on the happenings in Times Square surrounding a mysterious Black SUV that was reported to have suspicious contents. These contents included all kinds of explosive and flammable agents and materials seemingly deliberate in their purpose to go off and cause panic in the epicenter of NYC commerce, density and most importantly, recognition.
I felt the same way as I did when 9/11 happened, or the way I felt when the 2003 brown-out/black-out took place. Distant.
I wasn’t fully informed on the threat enough to feel the threat of it.
I also, Like this time, wasn’t in New York or anywhere near it. All I could do was watch and wait for the series of events to play itself out. And I’m still waiting…
Maybe it’s the natural New York skepticism, or inherent lack of surprise that comes with the territory. Or my mistrust of anything deemed “terrorism”.

But this time around, there’s no denying the Craziness or perceived intent behind this. There’s no other way to slice the heaviness of the situation. The news crews won’t be leaving this alone anytime soon, and you can guarantee this means all kinds of increased Big Brother tactics coming our way in T-minus 16 seconds…

What I didn’t know, and what makes this particular story so much more interesting and incredible, is that the man responsible for alerting the authorities just happen to be the father of my close personal homegirl. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Duane Jackson, a Vietnam Veteran – and husband of one of the coolest moms ever, 2 Christmases ago, and his presence is as warm as he is tall. A true hustler, he’s been an official Vendor on the Busy and bustling streets of Times Squares for years now, so you can rest assured that he’s seen plenty of things in his day. But it’s what he saw this fateful saturday that has him garnering all of the media attention that one man could handle at a dizzying pace. Blame it on him being a stand-up man, or an experienced New Yorker, or a good samaritan, or a combination of all things, but he responded the most sensible way he knew how after noticing the vehicle.

I don’t even know the full story myself, and I’ll be sure to get the firsthand account personally from Mr. Jackson himself next time I see him and pick his brain, because nothing’s more interesting than hearing New York stories from real New Yorkers. What I do know is that after a day full of shaking hands with the President, the Mayor, Diane Sawyer, Gayle King and almost anyone else with a camera, Mr. Jackson will be unforgettable and has earned some rest and quiet time in the City that never sleeps. I know TDJ was there every step of the way today, playing multiple roles as loving daughter (mistaken by a few for his young wife) as well as his make-shift publicist. Her mom and little brother were there too throughout the hectic day of press. Good look for the black families, Jacksons!! I see you!

Don’t know how long this link will last, but just in case you missed it, here’s the Good Morning America clip, co-starring ms. TDJackson herself. http://soc.li/AQ6sHje
We’ll get on her later about the absence of her column, for now, it’s not her moment. That belongs to the man who no doubt deserves all of the attention and acclaim for being on his P and Q’s, thinking and acting fast and logically. The man who today is a hero.
This one’s for you Mr. Jackson!

1 Comment

  1. Awww! And she was all concerned about her hair; she- and her family- looked AWESOME!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

