The Top Female Rappers Bringing Hope & Female Rapper dedication wrap – up

Well…

It’s over. I’ve dedicated a good amount of time on my examination of the female rapper species. I’ve dug in the crates, relived some memories I’d like to forget, and re-aquainted myself with some lost favorites in my journey. I rated the game’s biggest female flops, failures, false starts and unsung Heroines. I can only hope that in the process, I’ve enlightened you or at the very least, Made you say “Oh Snap! I remember that!

True enough, from the feedback I’ve been getting,  and as I mentioned before, there are plenty of women-folk who I didn’t make note of in my lists. Sure, I could have said something about Sylk E. Fyne, or Marvaless, Jacki-O or Mutha Superior in my forgotten or fail posts. And yes I could have made mention of NonChalant, or Heather B. or E-40‘s little sister, Suga T. I could’ve even taken it a step further and called out that chic Eco from that song “I’ll Call Before I Come” off Stankonia, or Lola Damone, Dutchess, Or 2Pac‘s one and only female Outlaw, Storm, or Outkast‘s other failed female guest rapper from the horrrendous “Mamacita” song on Aquemeni. But that’s what you’re here for. You keep me on my toes.

I already shared my feelings on the delicacies of being a woman in hip-hop and the art of handling just the right balance to surpass expectations. Having that said, I just wanted to end this whole adventure in ladyland by giving you something bright. Yes, some HOPE.

I’ll give you a quick list of my favorite female rappers of all time, and then give you my votes for the New Hope of women using Hip-Hop as their preferred voice of expression who stand a ghost of a chance.

My favorites have always been;

Bahamadia

Angie Martinez

Ladybug Mecca

Monie Love

Mc Lyte

Da Brat

Lauryn Hill (A.K.A. one of the best rappers/musicians Ever. period)

And now for…

The Top 10 Female Rappers bringing Hope

Honorable Mentions

* P-Star *

Don’t sleep. I’ve seen this kid do her thing at age 6! Now she’s so cultivated that her flow is just second nature and she’s getting more and more polished every year. She may be chasing that kiddie paper, but her back story is serious and there’s no childs-play about her. There’s even a documentary coming out about her. She may very well be that chic when she’s all grown up. Catch up on her on http://www.pstarrising.com/pstar-blog

*Farrah Burns*

One of those who are naturally nice and has talent just seeping out of her pores, you’d be more familiar if she put more damn work in! her seductive voice coupled with an effortless delivery but slick wit is a match that the game’s been waiting to hear from a chic. If she didn’t hate me so much right now, I ‘d be so about pushing her.

* Mae Day*

She’s Just dope. But we’ll wait to hear more.

10. NeMiss

This petite self-proclaimed “Bombshell” from Chicago is a vocalist and rapstress with style and heart. You don’t know what to expect until she opens up on stage and gets in full mode. She fully embraces her femininity and uses that to her advantage by creating powerful anthems and empowering rhymes without being in-your-face or aggressively beating her point into the listeners head. It’s just like the right dose of awareness you need without waving the “hear me roar” flag. Visit http://www.oz-d.com/Nemiss/bio.htm

9. Nikki Lynette

This name must just be popular amongst women who decide to rap. It sounds right off of the tongue. But sooner or later, this will probably be the only Nikki who’s name will be in your mouth anyway. Another Chicago Syren, She’s brillaint. That is all…

Learn more at http://www.nikkilynette.com/

8. Nina B

Who else has been the most visible female rapper hitting the internets in the last 3 years? Nobody better than Ms. B! That’s really all I have to say. No reason why you shouldn’t know her name at this point. Ask Kay Slay. Get familiar with her on http://remembermeninab.ning.com/

7. Brittany Street

My favorite of the Female rappers bubbling under and about to make a name, this chic is the definition of cool. Like most female rappers, she dabbles a little into the vocals, but her cleverness and quirkiness is what makes her stand out. What defines it tho, and what makes it star-worthy, is that she wraps it up in a laid-back package. So as much as she claims to be a “Martian”,  she always sounds down to Earth. Fly in her stratosphere on http://www.brittanystreet.com/blog/

6. Eternia

The dopest female performer I’ve seen if not one of the best performers I’ve seen period. She’s leading the underground circuit heavy right now and making Toronto look like a hotbed for the best rap talent in a long time. Nevermind being worried about white chics taking over, be worried about Canadians about to run the game! keep doing your thing E!

5. Jasmine Solano

Another super-dope performer and an all around Triple Threat. I had the pleasure of working with Ms. Solano last summer for my first ever Janet Jackson vs. Madonna party. She’s the definition of a grinder and is somewhat of a celebrity and a rising industry tastemaker. So don’t be surpised if you see her rapping, singing or DJing at your favorite somebody’s favorite big event. She’s only gonna keep going up!

4. Diamond/Rasheeda

The best thing about Crime Mob and the only pretty thing that ATL rap has given us to listen to have been putting it down locally for a minute. So much so, that it’s only a matter of time before one of them hits that national level of exposure with a nice radio smash. Diamond’s touched it a couple times, but never on her own. And Rasheeda has the flair, she just has to deliver. Either way, in the words of Andre “the south got somethin’ to say!“.

3. Kid Sister

She does that electro-retro, pop, bubbly, colorful dance stuff alot, but when you listen, She’s mastered her craft. She can speed it up, slow it down, sing… Alot of chics haven’t exhibited that kind of versatility or control, even if they can do it. She’s apart of the new revolution of creative women who you can’t just squeeze in a box. She’s doing what she wants, having fun doing it, and looking good all at the same time. What a concept!

2. Lil Mama

Yeah, yeah, she might be a little extra, but shorty CAN spit. You may only think of her as the “Lip Gloss” chic who ran up on stage during Jay and Alicia’s MTV awards set, but Youtube her and you’ll find some bars. It’s been a long time since you heard that kind of flexibility with the flow, and having already had commercial succes, albeit short-lived, she’s still ahead of the curve. Now she’s tenacious enough to have parlayed her brief fame into extended fame by becoming an MTV mainstay as a judge on it’s America’s Best Dance Crew show, let’s see if she can parlay that into more music success. We’ll see. In the meantime, peep her old rap over the “A Milli” beat.

1. Bran ‘Nu

Say what you wanna say, but Brandy‘s alter ego is going to see the light of day. And how many of you went and checked for her on Timbaland‘s album after watching her and Ray Jj’s reality show on VH1?? Once you listen, you see it’s clear that she actually has a dope rap voice, a believable rap flow, and she writes her own lyrics. And I personally think it’s dope how she incorporates her singing into her rap verses.  And with her lean towards introspection, which is something that only like 2 female rappers have really  done, she may be the breath of fresh air needed or at least a well rounded rapper who takes time to be human and not the flyest, baddest, illest or rawest. I think if she does her next album like a hybrid of both worlds, we may have the closest thing to another Miseducation…dare I say? Maybe I’m bias because I like Brandy, the singer alot. But I’m just saying, the void is freakin’ HUGE, and she has natural talent.

6 Comments

  1. Where’s Invincible?

  2. Good list. I didn’t know you liked Angie Martinez. I’m raising my eyebrows on that one lol. But yeah, Nikki Lynette is dope, P-Star..Brandy…I was taken aback about Brandy. It’s crazy that she could possibly be in the runnings to become the world’s next favorite Femcee. I hope she does a lot of switching up between rapping and singing on her new album. That would be crazy!

  3. Thanks for this list… I need to check these ladies out and play the ones I like to my babies.

  4. look l not gonna knock your play list but Damn l was on youtube and look up this rapper from washington dc by the name BETTY BOO …….and l mean man she put every artist on this list to shame if l’m wrong blog about it ,look at all of her video’s lol that what l’m talking about a rapper that make good music make good money and that BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO BETTY BOO

  5. ENNA REDD FROM ATL is HOT she HOT right now

    • Wish this was the real Rico Wade, but yeah, Redd got flow for sure. Good shit. I’ll put more folks on


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

