Bobby challenges Esso to rap faster!

By now, you should know of my GemStars fam and my Group, The Have-Knotz. If not, you will after the summer. Well, the trio consists of me, and my boys Bobby and Komp’L, 2 young Spitters reppin’ Uptown making their own way.

So Last night, we’re doing some of the last bit of writing for our debut project and Esso slides thru to lay a couple of Verses. Now, I’ve known E for a minute but there’s shit I haven’t heard him do yet musically. So as the night winds down and we’re talking industry shit and rap blah blah blah, I ask him if he’s ever rhymed faster than his normal pace in what the people call “Double-time” style. He says yes, but then Bobby swats that down with a disbelieving “I can’t see it“. To this, Esso responds almost immediately as if slapped across the face with a glove and challenged to a duel. He asks my boy Marv xx to throw on the Gucci Mane “Lemonade” instrumental and then stands up to set the record straight. I couldn’t miss this moment, so I break out the iPod and start filming. Then Komp’L steps up and digs through some of his rhymes to end the whole experience with a flurry of bars.

It’s moments like this, when I appreciate being around rappers. otherwise…

1 Comment

  1. I swear… he’s so adorable! I just want to put him in my pocket and carry him around all day LOL

    (oh, yeah, and he’s an amazing talent, too.)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

