The Soup takes shots at Diddy’s “Inside The Actor’s Studio” spot

I’m sorry,

But as a passive television viewer, I must say that E! network’s The Soup is the only program that I make a point to watch according to it’s airing schedule.

So how great did I find it that my most avidly-watched show was taking sarcastic jabs at a former avidly-watched show of mine, Inside The Actors’ Studio on it’s website?!

Keep in mind, ITAS was one of my top choices to make T.V. time for back in it’s heyday of quality Journalistic review and revered Hollywood talent. I was amazed that this small network called Bravo, that started out as an independent film champion was able to pull such star power as the likes of Deniro and Tom Hanks. Imagine my chagrin to see guests names widdle down to Anthony LaPaglia and Martin Lawrence – but they are actors right? I guess it was dope in itself that the same place that could put Oscar winners in it’s seats, could also extend the invitation to small screen actors and comedians. I scratched my head at the now-legendary Dave Chapelle and Conan O’Brien episodes, but I understood it’s significance.

But I stopped really watching a while ago. After the show stopped taping at The New School in New York City (shout to TDJ – I see you!), I always felt like something was missing. Perhaps it’s original intimacy. It’s journalistic sincerity and ambition was gone.  And because I stopped watching, I was totally taken off guard when I walked into Mike Gordon‘s apartment yesterday and witnessed a rerun of what was the most recent episode, featuring the voicing cast of Family Guy‘s main characters. I had to really think on that one. It was a case of popularity over integrity, ratings and need to attract a wider demographic. I get it. But none of this could have prepared me for what I saw flash across the screen indicating what would air next.

Yes, Diddy, made his way on to – and I repeat; Inside The Actors studio. Of Course this is fuckery at it’s finest, no need to debate. Who knows how long Diddy has been pining for this. I’m sure you’ll hear plenty comments from naysayers who have done my job for me, so I shant waste any breath ranting on about how ridiculous a notion this is. I’m sure Bravo knew what it was doing and what attention this would garner, even If James Lipton didn’t. Besides, no one captured the sentiment of everyone who feels like I do better than The Soup did on it’s website. They took the words right out of my mouth. I love the biting wit, and the music quote. Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m not the greatest Notorious B.I.G. fan, so I thought their emphasis on this portion of Sean Combs’ interview was bright!

And here it is – click on the link to see what I mean…

http://www.eonline.com/uberblog/the_soup/b182990_diddy_honors_genius_of_notorious_big_on.html?cmp

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

