A Post I didn’t want to have to write…R.I.P. “Esco”

First got word on the possible death of the homie at the beginning of the month. It came out of nowhere and too many of my Howard University alum were buzzing about it via the social networks for me to just brush it off.

We were all hoping it was just an really really bad rumor or something that got blown out of proportion seeing as no one could provide documented proof.

That proof came in today in the form of a report in a New Jersey news column that not only identified Jubar “Esco” Croswell by name, but stated that his remains were found last week and the motive and cause are being investigated.

http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2010/09/authorities_say_ny_man_was_fou.html

Remains??! meaning time has passed and there’s definitely foul play involved. How insane…

This was absolutely a post that I didn’t want to have to write…

Last time I spoke to my former classmate and all -around campus superstar Esco, he was on my block randomly and telling me about the things he’s got going on. He was tight with Lupe‘s FNF family, and we’ve all seen in him in the multiple appearances he’s made in print and music videos as a model. But out of respect I just want all that knew the man to show love today and pray that the questions all get answered, Justice gets served and the Universe Balances itself out.

I leave you with this video from ’05 featuring the kid.

R.I.P. Jubar

23 Comments

  1. This is crazy! RIP Esco.

  2. Jubar is my cousin, we were very tight up until the past year. I wish I was able to talk too or hug him before all of his BS took him away from us. He was a very intelligent and talented black man, with goals and dreams which could have reched the sky. It was him who motivated me to become the medical provider I have. He was suppose to become a Dentist but his life led him to a different career as a Model. I hoped the buzz in the air was alos a rumour and still hoped it was, reality has not yet set in. I pray vengence will be the lords and those whom had ANY thing to do with this act will be judged accordingly. RIP cousin, I love you and hope you knew that asides from the petty beef you will always be my family!!

    • Just wonder where all these People were when Esco needed them…
      Take care of the people you love on earth not while they are in heaven :/

      RIP> My condolences go out to his Family, especially his child who won’t get to see his father. A star has risen to heaven R.I.P.

      • I’m assuming that more than likely, the people who have been commenting and sending out their good words today in wake of this news are people like myself, who may have not been close personal friends of Jubar’s, but definitely were in his acquaintance and have been touched by his presence. We’re talking about someone who was extremely popular within the circles in which he traveled, so there’s tons of people who, even if they never knew him, recognize his face or name so they felt moved to say something. I’m sure as more things develop and people are ready to speak, his core friends and family will say and do what’s needed if not already.
        But You’re absolutely right, a child is going to miss out on having a father, which makes this doubly tragic.
        All I asked in the post today is that folks who knew him showed love. And so far, it’s been nothing but.

  3. Thank you for sharing that Tiffanie. I know that was pretty personal

  4. this reality is making me sadder and sadder….i went to Howard with Esco and he was such a nice guy. Such a sad day for everyone who knew him 😦

  5. damn

  6. RIP ESCO, may your family be comforted. Went to HU with the homie. He was cool with alot of the same people. Just seen him a year ago in the club and dude showed love. Nobody should have to go like this….

  7. Thank you for this post. Esco was my homie, I wasn’t super tight with him but whenever I would see him he would smile and big me and my mixtapes up. We were bottling it up down in miami just a few years ago. As much as I smile I dont think I ever saw Esco without a smile on his face. He was one of the most naturally positive people I ever knew. Blessings.

  8. […] A Post I didn’t want to have to write…R.I.P. “Esco” First got word on the possible death of the homie at the beginning of the month. It came out of nowhere and too many […] […]

  9. Most knew Jubar as “Esco”, but I often referred to him as “Young One”. Being 5 yrs older, when he got to Howard, he was much like the lil homie that lived on ya block – full of energy, and eager to prove his worth to the world. Always smiling and talkin shit, but never in a disrespectful manner. Would run into him on occasion once the Howard years were behind us, and it was like we were still on campus, in the lower gym in Burr, goin at it. Don’t think he deserved to to out like this. I pray the investigators are diligent in their pursuit of justice and the truth, and my thoughts are with his Family and Friends, many of whom we once shared.

  10. Oh men! This is sad! I don’t know him personally but I wish the family Peace and his child Well! Oh man another black Man lost to the heavens!

  11. R.I.P TO MY HOMMIE ESCO DAMN I MISS YOU , I MET ESCO TROUGH ZAB JUDAH WHEN I WAS YOUNG EVER SINSE THEN WE KEPT IN TOUCH HE WOULD ALWAYS SHOW ME LOVE AND AND COME OUT EVERY TIME I HAD A BOXING MATCH AND JUST CALL ME OUT OF NO WHERE, HE MADE IT TO ALL OF MY YEARS IN THE FINAL’S OF THE GOLDEN GLOVES , I LAUGH THINKING ABOUT WHEN RIHANNAH 1ST CAME OUT I TOLD ESCO ” I LIKE HER AND I WANT TO TAKE HER OUT ON A DATE HE TOLD ME SMILING ‘LOL DNT WORRY HOMMIE I GOT U WHEN U GO PRO GIVE ME HER TICKET AND ILL MAKE SURE SHE WILL BE AT YOUR FIGHT ‘ HIM SAYING THAT TO ME WAS SO MUCH BIGGER THEN WHAT IT REALLY MEANT FOR ME TO JUST TAKE RIRI ON A DATE ITS THE FACT HE WANTED TO BE A BIG BROTHER TO ME AND WANTED TO SEE ME HAPPY AND MAKE IT AS WELL IN LIFE TO GET WHAT I WANT , U WILL ALWAYS BE MISS HOMMIE ..R.I.P ESCO

  12. As I was telling somebody else. I remember meeting Esco during my time at Howard and I’ll be honest. If you didn’t like him, you were a terrible person on the inside. He was that cool and cats who didn’t even care for NY dudes (and they were out there) still showed Esco love because he showed everybody else love. It pains me how great guys like that are taken so early from us. But, Allah has his Angel and maybe he had a higher purpose than we can understand. My prayers go to his family and his close friends.

    One love.

  13. Bossip covered this story as well- because this is an active investigation into his death I hope bossip removes details about his car being burnt a few weeks prior.

    Esco was a great guy loved by many…But on the flip side of Love their is hate.

    He’s a father, son, brother & friend. He will be missed.

    People in death there is death-the end. He will never feel pain again & I hope to see him again in heaven.

    My prayers always go out to the family & friends & especially the piece of him (his child) who is left behind.

    Esco lived life on his terms & was living his dreams. That’s more than most people can say they are doing.

    TREASURE EACH DAY & ALL PEOPLE YOU LOVE. TIME IS SHORT…there is never a rewind button to life.

    A STAR IS RETURNING TO HEAVEN!

    Good Bless!

  14. Esco was definitely 1 of the homies back in the days at Howard. A very humble and easygoing spirit that got down with everybody. Hard to believe he’s gone. Years would pass and dude would randomly pop up on the TV screen and I’m like “YO! That’s my n*gga Esco right there! I went to school with him” and cats would look at me like “maaan you went to school with everybody…cmon son!” lol…Esco was a star a long time ago and I’m sure he was headed to even bigger things like most Howard folk do. I was lookin fwd to gettin up wit my homie and poppin a bottle at homecomin wit the NY crew…My prayers and condolences go out to his family. He is definitely missed….

  15. this is sooo sad! I remember when ii met him at my sister and his graduation from Howard. Spotted him from the audience and said “i hope my sis knows him”. He was so handsome. Afterwards he was even kind enough to take a photo with me. My senior prom in 2005 he couldn’t make it but called me on the day and told me to enjoy myself. He was a sweetheart and will truly be missed! R.I.P!

  16. I worked with this dude on a mtv photo shoot b4 and he was cool as hell. It’s sad to hear of his death and I pray for his soul and his family.

    RIP ESCO

  17. this is so tragic….i remember seeing esco in the halls and on campus at howard around 02 and 03. we never formally met but he would always acknowledge me and smile…and then all of a sudden i started seeing him in XXL and different hip hop magazines and i was like thats oh dude at my school. he reminded me a fly as native american or sumthing…it saddens me so much because of the way he went out and the fact that he was one of those people that touched my spirit without ever saying nothing to me. r.i.p

  18. This can be 2nd incident that I’m scanning anything about modifying web sites with the program. It seems that you are an super professional blogger. Your publish is an excellent Instance of why I proceed coming back to review your great high quality content which is forever up to date.

  19. IM JUST FINDING OUT ABOUT THIS GOOD KID. ESCO. I WOULD SEE HIM AND ALWAYS LOOK OUT FOR HIM HE IS AND WAS A GOOD KID. IT SADDENS ME THAT SOMEONE WOULD SNUFF OUT A PERSON WITH SO MUCH POTENTIAL. A GOOD KID AND MY HEART IS SAD GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS ‘ESCO’………….TOBIAS

  20. A FEW DAYS AGO, IN A NEWSPAPER FROM EDISON, NJ IT WAS PUBLISHED THAT THE KILLER WAS FOUND.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

