Hot 16…Or More… “WANT THAT”

Another installment.

Like I said in last month’s post, I can’t get as intricate as Jay-Z did in his Decoded memoir, but follow the spaces, italics and emboldened letters to see where my points are emphasized.

This excerpt is actually the entire set of verses and the hook from the track which appears as number 2 on my very first mixtape released as a solo artist, The Crazy 8’s. It’s titled “Want That” and was instantly a favorite among listeners and always has been. It’s actually a song that I wrote in 2003 when I ventured out on my boy Terence, The Politician‘s equipment to record myself for the first time. With nothing but alot of free time on my hands, I was determined to make a collection of songs that showcased every side of my 2003 self and finally hear my voice on a fully recorded project. I used some of his original beats, some industry beats and even spliced some of both together with my limited knowledge of the programs at my disposal. I sat there, day after day, and wrote, recorded and edited everything myself. I still have that collection. The subject song of last month’s post, “Talkin’ Bout” actually spawned from that collection as well. I sharpened punchlines there, tried my very first singing track, vented about the chic I was dealing with, and tried to come to an understanding with my Father and my little sister, all on the same 17 song compilation. Who knows how many didn’t make it! But I vividly remember the inception of this track…I wanted to make something effortlesly catchy, but I wanted to rap in a revolutionary way that hadn’t been heard before. Or at least not heard too often. I spent that summer looking up this artist that Timbaland was supposed to be bringing out. Her promo material was everywhere on the net at the time. She was a singer named Kiley Dean; a White girl with a soulful voice who was poised to fill in the void left by Aaliyah the year before. Why she never really saw the light of day, I don’t know…But the musical backdrops that Tim was providing her made the perfect candidates for beat jacking. He had the usual Timbo r&b fanfare, a 50’s inspired tune, even one that borrowed from a Jay-Z song that he produced. But nothing hit me more than this guitar and violin based beat that sounded like nothing I heard before from her song “Keep It Movin'”. I loved what Kiley did to it as a song, and I found a way to loop it immediately. The rhythm actually lead me to flow the way that I did, on top of my predetermined mission to flow super creatively, so ….Mission accomplished. I wound up coming up with the hook first, which lead me to write a song which centers around a story of me pursuing a woman who’s playing hard to get. It goes into the delicacies of seduction, mutual attraction and respect. This one is not as full of complex rethorical devices as some of the other entries…I wrote it down more so because I want you to be able to follow the words that may get lost in the speed or delivery of the flow.

And with no further adieu, I give you

“Want That”

“Maybe it’s just your size,

the way you shape out those jeans,

that make me just want your thighs, and everything in between.

And I ain’t one of those guys, who cannot say what they mean,

but when you talk with your eyes, I cannot say what they meeaaannnnn – Leaning…

I’m tilting – you walking away,

feeling so awkward – I play stupid, cause Cupid must’ve been sick,

or just off for the day.

Cause you ain’t lookin’ in my direction,

except to ask for directions,

I think you lackin’ direction.

So let me pass the suggestion,

I start by asking the question; (How you Doing?),

Your reaction was so, Passive aggressive.

No need for talking out your neck,

if that’s too much of a question, we can act like we never met then.

But then you turn and do something so unexpected,

We conversate but then end doing some sex shit!

So now I’m back to just leaning,

because you back up and leaving,

a nigga backed-up

-I’m fienin’ to lean your back up…

Against the wall,

you say it won’t be too long – and I’m,

tryin’a be strong, but my back’s against the wall.

So I’m waiting,

excersizing my patience,

but you being inconsiderate with all of this time that you takin’.

You say it’s all up in my mind – sayin’ ‘haste makes waste‘,

I can fall on my behind and misplace my face.

Girl I hate the pace, that you movin’ – But still…

It makes me laugh, cause I know what your doin’ – now do it!

HOOK

Stop what your doin’ cause when you do what you do – it makes me want that,

I should persue it, but somethin’ tell me that you don’t really want that!

What, you want me to play it….

Coooollllll….

You wanna have me when you’re ready but not too soon,

So I listen to what you tellin’ me not to do,

and I just follow, and I try not to break the rules.

You -say -what -you -wont -but -you -do -it -and -do -what -you -say -but -you -say -what -you -don’t -do!

So how you expecting a nigga to follow whatever the way he’s supposed to?? You know you’re hopeful,

that I hold you close, and go through all the motions…

But look here, you’re holding on to

– that,

Golden Rule, that the old folks use that says;

‘don’t give it up, til you know your cue’.

Stay on your,

toes and Q’s and your P’s and O’s,

and O.P.P.’s – Don’t leave nothin’ exposed.

So when we get heated I unbutton your clothes,

(but)

you got your own reasons so that’s why you say ‘no!’ – and I know…

I know we just met…

But somethin’ about you spells sex,

your lips say ‘Hell Yes!’

-And I know…

You won’t be happy til you covered in sweat – so mami…

Let’s hit the covers and rest – that’s when you jump up and step,

and put a brother in check,

like ‘ain’t ya mama ever taught you respect?!’,

I say yes,

but see, as a man-I got needs!

It’s not in my plans to fold up my hands and twiddle my thumbs,

I’m finna fuck,

You gettin’ me up, til you get enough, you giving me up!

And then I’m like

What??!

Did,

I do?

To make you not wanna do,

what it is you wanna do!

And I’m a nigga that’s full of patience…

But it don’t change the fact I’m anxious,

told me wait – but -I’m -afraid -I -might -end -up -with -my -dick -up -in -a -bunch -of -other chics’ waists – but wait Miss!!!

My mistake…

The dangers,

of strangers – they be Callin’! (Callin’!)

See with you, it’s safer, but you stallin’! (Stallin’!),

I ain’t too much in favor of this nonsense! (nonsense!).

But I’mma play it your way,

cause even tho I’m complaining, I’ll respect you much more in the morning!”

Hope you learned something…

You can download this song by clicking below on the cover to the original mixtape where it’s featured. 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

