Hot 16…Or More…”SET THE MOOD REMIX”

I was just talking about this track. It’s just perfect timing that this is this month’s Hot 16…Or More…

This track is from an idea that my boy Brandon Carter had to sample an interlude from Justin Timberlake‘s FutureSex/LoveSounds album. He accompanied that sample with a long running gag about using ridiculously cheap things to set the perfect mood, not for romance, but for a memorable sexual tryst. The long running gag thing is something that we would often use to crack each other up when we would freestyle together. It’s like playing “Around The World” in basketball but with words. We’d use the same sentence and add our spin to it. Almost like a game of  “I Spy”.

Brandon wanted me to jump on the track since he was wrapping up his first mixtape, The Audacity Of Dope. I chimed in a little with the gag, and started off my verse.

Unfortunately, when Brandon was shooting the video for this track, I missed all of the filming dates, so he had to make an alternate version with an extra verse, and because he had made the visual for it, that is the version that wound up on his mixtape. The version with both of us landed on the deluxe version of my grand opening, The Crazy 8’s.

Usually, when I collaborate with Brandon, It’s a given that we rap in patterns that are the opposite of each other, unless we’re deliberately trying to match our flows. I knew I was going to rap faster because Brandon did a slow paced delivery full of comedic punches. I wanted to be more intricate to balance things out. I don’t know if it was the mental association with it being a Justin Timberlake song, but I wanted to say something about “Black Snake Moan”(which was the movie he starred in along with Samuel L. Jackson)…I don’t really know why, guess it’s just the nature of a rap about sex. In any case, this train of thought led to me playing around with the titles of a bunch of movies that starred Samuel L. Jackson. And from this, my verse was born – to much delight of listeners, but I also feel that it gets overlooked and people miss the whole theme unless I’m rapping it in front of them.

So now, I give you…

“Set The Mood Remix”


“You say that your back’s Unbreakable,

so I’mma Sam Jack – break bones,

and show you just how to make my Black Snake Moan.

That’s Jungle Fever, so Jane get low,

and let Tarzan Do The Right Thing tho.

187 when it’s A Time To Kill the cat,

my middle name’s curiosity

So you Die Hard, I’m The Man, and it’s not Pulp Fiction – it’s fact,

baby I’m a G!

Malik is well-endowed, please!

Soon as I creep I smell your body.

Wearing that pink slip thing that you got from Secret,

I mean Victoria, Don’t tell nobody!

But,

You can’t keep it down,

making Janet Jacme sounds,

but I guess that’s what happens when I start slapping,

over your Jackie Brown!!

So when you’re ridin’ the tip of the SHAFT,

you feel The Rise Of The Sith on that ass,

and your Deep Blue Sea, starts leaking over my Evisu jeans.

It gets XXX rated, and my partner Brandon Carter be the Coach,

and my approach is that Iam the # 1 Starter! (Oh!)”

Hope you learned something…

To listen to or download this track, click the image of the cover below

1 Comment

  1. This is one of my fav’s….never got the play on movies…..dope!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

