Hot 16…Or More…”LIKE ME”

Ahhh 2006. What a crucial year. I first reconnected with my boys Killa and Sol-Leks at the end of ’05 and began this journey as a professional solo rap artist. Sol-Leks had this dope set-up in his room and used to do these preliminary recordings until he got the place that our crew, The Balance, would eventually wind up calling Wet Paint Studios. Between these times, I was reintroduced to Sekwon, who would be up in Sol-Lek’s room and have some of his beats playing. I heard songs that Sol-Leks had recorded over his beats and it always seemed like he had picked all of the good ones to rap over. I had jumped on a Sol-Leks track that Sek had produced, but he wanted me to rap over a few of his beats for myself. I had initially heard a beat he did early on called “La Lupe” and did something over that, but it went nowhere. He used to have this real choppy production style that skipped and was dependent on samples with hi-hats everywhere, so they didn’t really jump out at me. But like every other month, he’d come thru with a new cd of beats. He was real diligent with his. In early 2006, he had brought one of his beat cds and it had this track sampled from a Clint Eastwood movie. Just the fact of where it was sampled from alone made me want to take it. The other thing is that at that point, since not alot of his tracks hit me, I was real excited and I wanted to make sure I claimed it before Sol-Leks could. I took this track and wrote to it almost immediately. I recorded it in Sol-Lek’s room, but I didn’t like the mix. Sek said I did some real 50 Cent-ish type rhyme. I wanted it to be catchy tho. Where as most rappers would’ve tried to make it hardcore, I saw something else in that guitar and whistle run. But I still wanted to show off. So I chose this rhythm that rode the beat perfectly and lead into the hook each time. The first incarnation of it sounded more wordy in the first verse. So the song sat for a year after the Wet Paint era kicked in and the first Crazy 8’s and Moonlighting mixtapes took precedence. I re-wrote it and re-recorded that song about 3 times because Sek lost his original version of the beat. I just wanted to still let it be heard because I knew it was a dope song at the end of the day. Especially since I re-wrote it with more swag. So he finally re-made it correctly and by the time Wet Paint was done and I was recording with my GemStars crew in 2008, it was time for me to re-release the Crazy 8’s as the deluxe version with 8 new songs. I included this final version and it was well worth it. Sek has gone on to become one of my favorite and most reliable go-to producers. He’s come a long way and is a beast behind the boards now with respected rappers getting tracks from him. Watch out for the kid. So here it is…My first real song over a Sekwon beat….

LIKE ME

Verse 1

“Hey!

you can smoke a spliff,

on a cliff, (reference to the opening line borrowed from “Uptown Anthem” by Naughty By Nature)

but the difference with the 6…

Is I really Jump-Off, (Double entendre. The jump-off. Cliff. See?)

Like I’m suicidal with…

What I spit;

This that wrist-slit – quit the life you live,

cause it’s Bleek – but that Memphis,

mean I’m on my Grizz

ly! (alot of people hate when rappers stretch a word to carry it from one sentence to another, but what I did here was made a triple entendre out of the whole suicide, wrist slit Bleek reference and made it connect to the Memphis line which can fit the Bleek and Grizzly references. And it all fit within the diced up rhyme pattern. Hence, the stretching of the word grizzly)

I’m the other kid who’s name contain a hyphen, (feeding off of the Memphis Bleek line, this is an allusion to Jay-Z; the other kid with a hyphen in his name. ha!)

ya’ll just wasn’t cutting it, so I’m bringin’ the knife in.

I’mma write til I can get my girl Canary diamonds,

all about that yellow– you can call her jewelery lightskinned!

But I ain’t colorstruck…

I’m from the westside where they throwin numbers up,

bandanas on their ups! (This was back when the gang culture in NYC was still a little bit new and more lively so the kids would be more outlandish and do stuff like wear bandanas in random places to signify their sets)

But get right, or get doubled up,

cause that sheet come in one color,

– it’s white! when you covered up!

Call for EMT,

round here, niggas eating spoonfuls of TNT…

Don’t let the waves fool you…

Cause Harlem’s known for gettin’ pretty and fly,

but you can check Youtube;

even Loon throwin C’s – you see! (Back then, Loon had beef with Dipset rapper 40 Cal. and appeared on a video clip claiming an L.A. Crip set)

I keep my frequency,

on FM,

for instance’ if a nigga’s hatin – F ’em!

He don’t really wanna see that FN,

unless you throw an A in between it

-then,

we can be best friends! ( because throwing the letter A between F & N would make him a fan – get it? Instead of seeing the FN, which is a gun. Which would be an extreme outcome)

And it ain’t even me to be threatin’,

-but I’m from a zone where the dudes known to toast more than the Best Man

And I don’t mean Taye Diggs,

this is Harlem where they got ’em sayin “A!” and “Ya Dig”! (phrases popularized by Dipset rappers Juelz Santana and Jim Jones at the time)

Spot me at a House Party – ain’t no Play or no Kid,

but still a Class Act, (duh, Kid N Play movie titles from the early 90’s)

-cats act, but they ain’t like him…

(Lord…)”

HOOK

Verse 2

“That’s enough about where I’m from,

let’s get into where I’m goin…

My career’s speeding up!

Your careers’ll be slowing…

Down, like in the dumps!

I dump your stuff where the hole is,

couldn’t find a line if your rhyming came with a clothespin – oh! and…

Before your rhyming hit the store,

shellack that wax, (“wax” is old school slang for an album. It originated in description of the texture of vinyl records)

or you won’t be shining at all!

These rap cats wack…

Waving a 9 in all your songs,

but anh anh anh!

Survey says; you’re lying- you’re wrong

Zero!! (allusion to the game show Family Fued)

Reolad,

Lik is gassed – he know,

my head is too big for my face like, Ne-Yo

I’m So Sick, (Ne-Yo break out song. Also the bridge of a double entendre sequence)

I need some antibiotics,

in my system – jump over fences like your man was bionic

-penisulin…

Couldn’t heal him man,

16 Million Dollar Man,

can’t stop him but,

“we can rebuild him!” (This quote and the ‘jump over fences’ line are allusions to the old TV show The 6 Million Dollar Man a.k.a. the Bionic Man)

From scratch,

but scratch that – it’ll be a minute until then,

I walk up just like the kid who did in Lenon and killed him.

Critics ain’t spoke much,

you ain’t neither,

-it’s thumbs down like Roeper,

and you ain’t Ebert.

But soon as we get these ropes up,

you ain’t leaving,

so what he’s a New Jack?

Leave that New Jack Swingin‘! (Double Entendre like a muthafucka!)

And yeah I know that’s wrong considering Black History,

-but he been talking long…

Consider Black history!!

I’m the shit that means;

simply I’m the shit to me,

your opinion means shit to me,

are you shittin’ me??!

(Lord…)”

Hope you learned something…

To listen to or download this song, click the pic of the mixtape cover below.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

